A very nice gesture. My very first week on the SPL back when it started, Karen sent me a video of a Philly show. It was a wonderful surprise and captured the spirit of the SPL. We've been fast friends ever since.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .