Many of us are now real world friends. If I want to abuse Mando I can just shout through his letterbox. Back in the day I could also go to Griffin Park and laugh at him as the Os beat Brentford (I'll get my coat).
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .